Grand Seiko

LEARN MORE

  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGH243
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGE271
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGN021
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGH245
  Grand Seiko

Prospex

SPB210J1
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGN019
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGJ233
  Grand Seiko

Asakage

SBGW267
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGJ251
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGJ237
  Grand Seiko

Yukage

SBGW269
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGN005
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGJ249
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGJ239
  Grand Seiko

Hi-Beat 36000 200m Diver

SBGH289
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGE253
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGP001
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGE255
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGP003
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGH279
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGP013
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGN011
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGR315
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGP005
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGV221
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGP009
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGV223
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGR317
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

STGK011
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGC221
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

STGK013
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGC223
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGM221
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGE257
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SLGH005
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGH213
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGE269
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGA201
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGA203
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGA211
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGA229
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGA231
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGA283
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGA293
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGA375
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGC201
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGC203
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGC205
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGE201
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGE215
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGH201
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGH205
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGH255
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGH263
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGJ201
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGJ217
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGJ219
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGN003
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGR255
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGR261
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGR307
  Grand Seiko

Heritage

SBGR309
  Grand Seiko

HeriDays

SBGV205
  Grand Seiko

HeriDays

SBGV207
  Grand Seiko

HeriDays

SBGV225
  Grand Seiko

HeriDays

SBGX261
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGA407
  Grand Seiko

Sport

SBGE248
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGK009
  Grand Seiko

Elegance

SBGK007

Grand Seiko en route pour le titre de “meilleure montre du monde”.

Dans les années 60, si vous vouliez acheter une montre de haute qualité, il était impossible d’éviter les marques suisses. A l’époque, les premières marques horlogères suisses avaient déjà plus de 200 ans d’histoire. Bien entendu, cela a également façonné la conscience collective des passionnés de l’horlogerie (et de ceux qui souhaitent le devenir). Nul doute que d’autres pays abritaient également d’excellentes marques horlogères, comme l’Allemagne ou le Royaume-Uni, mais le credo était : les meilleures montres viennent de Suisse. Point final.

Pourtant, une nation insulaire du Pacifique, à près de 10 000 km du berceau de l’horlogerie moderne, avait son mot à dire à ce sujet.
Les Japonais ont toujours adhéré à la maxime “tout ou rien” en ce qui concerne la production des produits de base. Profondément ancré dans la culture du pays, ce principe n’a guère changé jusqu’à ce jour, car l’appellation d’origine “Made in Japan” est toujours considérée comme l’une des plus puissantes au monde et comme une garantie de qualité et de pérennité.

Ce sont précisément ces qualités que les horlogers de la Grand Seikos avaient en tête en 1960 lorsqu’ils ont présenté au public du monde entier leur première montre. Mais pour être juste, il faut reconnaître que c’est un euphémisme, c’est le moins qu’on puisse dire. L’objectif n’était pas seulement de tenir tête aux Suisses, mais bien plus de les inciter à créer la meilleure montre du monde, sans équivalent en termes de lisibilité, de précision et de qualité. Alerte spoiler : Leur plan a fonctionné.

En concurrence avec la Suisse

Dans les années 60, les concours de l’Observatoire de Neuchâtel étaient largement considérés comme un rendez-vous prestigieux pour les marques horlogères suisses, une occasion idéale pour les Japonais de faire leur entrée avec brio sur la scène horlogère internationale. En 1963, pour la première fois, les Japonais se sont lancés dans la course pour la montre la plus précise du monde. Année après année, leur classement s’est amélioré, ce qui s’est transformé en une épine dans le pied des champions du monde en titre. Tout indiquait que les Japonais ne tarderaient pas à prendre le dessus, jusqu’à ce que les compétitions soient officiellement arrêtées une fois pour toutes. Honni soit qui mal y pense. L’interdiction d’utiliser l’appellation “chronomètre” en raison de son origine étrangère à la Suisse a conduit la marque à introduire sa propre norme plus stricte : La norme spéciale Grand Seiko est née et le succès de la marque a commencé.

Aujourd’hui, les marques horlogères proposent généralement une large gamme de montres mécaniques et à quartz. Mais à l’intérieur de la Grand Seiko, trois cœurs battaient : les Japonais ont un mouvement hybride très novateur et unique dans leur catalogue, le Spring Drive . Ce dernier en particulier est un argument de vente absolument unique qui est entré à juste titre dans l’histoire de l’horlogerie comme une des nouveautés les plus innovantes de l’histoire. Spring Drive réussit à fusionner des éléments mécaniques avec des éléments électroniques. Le résultat est un mouvement qui exploite idéalement les forces des deux systèmes et obtient des résultats extraordinaires. Le meilleur des deux mondes.

Trois cœurs battaient à l’intérieur de la Grand Seiko

Mais Grand Seiko ne laisse rien au hasard avec ses modèles mécaniques et à quartz et montre de façon impressionnante comment les pratiques horlogères traditionnelles peuvent être propulsées à un niveau supérieur. Alors que les montres à quartz ne suscitent généralement qu’un sourire lassé chez les amateurs de montres, les montres à quartz de Grand Seiko sont une affaire sérieuse. La marque cultive ses propres cristaux de quartz et les laisse vieillir pendant plusieurs mois pour garantir des caractéristiques d’oscillation idéales. De plus, chaque cristal de quartz est sélectionné individuellement pour la montre correspondante.

Un bref coup d’œil sur l’histoire de l’horlogerie révèle pourquoi les mouvements à quartz continuent d’être une discipline paradigmatique pour les Japonais. Au début des années 1970, Seiko a été le catalyseur de la “crise du quartz”, une évolution révolutionnaire dans l’industrie horlogère, lorsque les montres à quartz de haute précision produites en série ont presque fait disparaître pour de bon leurs équivalents suisses les plus chers du marché.

Mais les mouvements mécaniques de Grand Seiko ne sont pas non plus des montres ordinaires. Grand Seiko est l’une des rares marques horlogères au monde qui dispose dans son catalogue d’un grand nombre de mouvements haute fréquence, qui font leur travail avec précision et qui résistent aux chocs avec 36 000 demi oscillations par heure. Pratiquement tous les composants des montres Grand Seiko sont produits en interne, ce qui fait de Grand Seiko une manufacture horlogère avec la plus grande profondeur de production jamais atteinte.

De l’ancien secret d’initié à l’arme secrète japonaise

Pendant longtemps, Grand Seiko a été considéré comme une référence pour les vrais connaisseurs de montres. Curieusement, Grand Seiko n’est gérée comme une marque indépendante au sein des structures du groupe Seiko que depuis 2017, avec entre autres Credor et Orient Watches, dont elle assure également la gestion. La spin-off de luxe Grand Seiko a marqué le début d’une nouvelle ère et on peut comprendre qu’un sigle “Seiko” ne pouvait plus être utilisé sur le cadran et que désormais seul “Grand Seiko” a été utilisé.

Les montres Grand Seiko sont en tous points de véritables montres de luxe. A la riche histoire s’ajoutent des finitions particulièrement raffinées telles que les finitions Zaratsu, des particularités comme les cadrans Flocon de Neige, des calibres maison de haute précision et, enfin et surtout, une politique de juste prix.

Les collections Grand Seiko :

Collection Grand Seiko Elegance

Comme son nom le suggère, la collection se caractérise par son apparence élégante. Les montres ne sont proposées que sur des bracelets en cuir et sont pourvus de cadrans nets et minimalistes, bien que leur intemporalité soit à l’occasion bousculée par une aiguille GMT ou un indicateur de réserve de puissance.

Collection Grand Seiko Sport

Les complications, comme par exemple un deuxième fuseau horaire, un indicateur de réserve de puissance et un module chronographe rendent les montres de cette collection plus sophistiquées techniquement, ce qui en retour contribue au fait qu’elles ont l’air plus actuelles au poignet. Équipées de bracelets en acier inox avec de larges poussoirs, les montres ont un aspect sportif et masculin.

Collection Grand Seiko Heritage

La collection Heritage est peut-être la plus recherchée des trois et représente le compromis idéal entre les deux. Des cadrans classiques, d’élégantes aiguilles Dauphine, des bracelets en acier inox et une grande variété de diamètres garantissent que la plupart des goûts seront satisfaits. En particulier le modèle SBGA211 alias “Flocon de Neige (Snowflake)”, avec son cadran qui rappelle la neige fraîche qui vient de tomber, qui lui permet d’être un modèle culte chez les fans de Grand Seiko.

Menu

Grand Seiko

Favorite Grand Seiko models:

  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGM221G
€4.159
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGA201G
€4.319
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGA203G
€4.319
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGA229G
€5.349
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGA231G
€6.189
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGA259G
€5.179
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGA283G
€3.299
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGA285G
€3.299
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGA293G
€4.749
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGA373G
€4.499
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGA375G
€4.499
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGC201G
€7.209
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGC203G
€7.209
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGC205G
€8.499
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGD201J
€51.519
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGE205G
€4.749
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGE211G
€4.749
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGE215G
€6.439
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGH201G
€5.179
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGH205G
€5.179
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGH255G
€8.499
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGH263G
€5.859
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGJ211G
€6.439
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGJ213G
€6.439
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGJ217G
€5.859
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGJ219G
€5.859
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGR251G
€3.389
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGR253G
€3.389
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGR255G
€3.729
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGR257G
€3.729
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGR261G
€3.899
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGR307G
€3.979
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGR309G
€3.979
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGV205G
€2.709
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGV207G
€2.709
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGV225G
€2.199
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGV238G
€4.219
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGX259G
€1.949
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGX261G
€1.949
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGX263G
€1.949
  Grand Seiko Sport Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

SBGE248
€11.809
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGK009
€7.099
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

SBGK007
€6.259
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGH281G
€5.209
  Grand Seiko Heritage Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

SBGP007G
€3.309
  Grand Seiko Elegance Collection Grand Seiko

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

STGK015G
€8.339

Grand Seiko on a mission to become “the world’s best watch”

 

If you wanted to buy a high-quality watch in the 1960s, there was simply no way around Swiss brands. At that time, the first Swiss watch brands were already looking back on a more than 200-year-old history. This of course also shaped the collective consciousness of watch enthusiasts (and those aiming to become one). There is no doubt that other countries were home to excellent watch brands as well, such as Germany or the United Kingdom, but the general opinion was: The best watches come from Switzerland. Period.

However, an island nation in the Pacific, almost 10,000 km away from the cradle of modern watchmaking, had a thing or two to say about it.

In Japan, when it comes to the production of commodities, the Japanese have always adhered to the maxim “all or nothing”. Deeply rooted in the country’s culture, this principle has changed little to this day. The “Made in Japan” designation of origin is still regarded as one of the most powerful ones in the world and as a guarantee of uncompromising quality and longevity.

It was precisely these attributes the watchmakers of Grand Seiko had in mind in 1960 when they presented their first watch to the world public. To be fair, however, this is an understatement, to say the least. The aim was not just to stand up to the Swiss, it was much more the incentive to create the best watch in the world, unparalleled in readability, precision and quality. Spoiler alert: They are on a good way.

In the 1960s, the Neuchâtel Observatory competitions were widely regarded as a prestigious showdown among Swiss watch brands, making it the perfect occasion for the Japanese to enter the international watch stage with a big bang. For the first time, the Japanese were involved in the race for the world’s most precise watch in 1963. Year after year their rankings improved, which increasingly became a thorn in the side of the reigning top dogs. Everything indicated that the race would soon decide in favour of the Japanese, until the competitions were finally officially stopped once and for all. Shame be to him who thinks evil of it. Since the brand was also banned from using the “chronometer” designation due to its non-Swiss origin, it was decided to introduce its own more stringent standard: The Grand Seiko Special Standard was born and the brand’s success story began.

Today, watch brands usually offer a wide range of both mechanical and quartz watches. In Grand Seiko’s chest, however, beat three hearts: The Japanese have a very innovative and unique hybrid movement in their repertoire, which is called Spring Drive. It has rightly gone down in the annals of watchmaking history as one of the most innovative new developments and is arguably Grand Seiko’s biggest selling proposition. Spring Drive makes use of both mechanical and electronic elements, resulting in a movement that achieves extraordinary results. The best of both worlds.

Three hearts in one chest

But Grand Seiko also leaves nothing to chance with their mechanical and battery-powered quartz models and impressively shows how traditional watchmaking practices can be raised to a new level. While quartz watches usually only elicit a weary smile from die-hard watch lovers, quartz watches at Grand Seiko are a serious matter. The brand cultivates its own quartz crystals and lets them age for several months to guarantee ideal oscillation capabilities. In addition, every quartz crystal is individually and carefully selected for each watch.

A very brief look at the history of watchmaking reveals why quartz movements continue to be a major discipline for the Japanese. At the beginning of the 1970s, Seiko was the catalyst for the “quartz crisis”, a revolutionary development in the watch industry, when mass-produced and high-precision quartz watches almost made their more expensive Swiss counterparts disappear forever.

The mechanical movements at Grand Seiko are not just ordinary watches either. As one of the few watch brands worldwide, Grand Seiko has a large number of high-frequency movements in its portfolio, which perform their work precisely and shockproof with 36,000 half oscillations per hour. Virtually every component of Grand Seiko’s watches is produced in-house, which makes Grand Seiko a watch manufacturer with one of the highest production depths around.

From a former insider tip to a Japanese super weapon

For a long time, Grand Seiko was regarded as an insider tip for true watch connoisseurs. Surprisingly, Grand Seiko has only been managed as a solely independent brand within the Seiko Group structure, which also manages for instance Credor and Orient Watches, since 2017. The luxury spin-off Grand Seiko ushered in a new era: While the “Seiko” lettering was being banned from the dial, the lettering “Grand Seiko” stayed. This is certainly to be understood as a means to push international expansion more successfully.

Watches from Grand Seiko are genuine luxury watches in every respect. The rich history is joined by particularly refined finishes such as Zaratsu finissage, special features such as Snowflake dials, high-precision in-house calibres and, last but not least, a fair price policy.

 

The Grand Seiko collections:

Grand Seiko Elegance Collection

As the name suggests, this collection is characterized by its elegant appearance. The watches are only being offered on leather straps and feature clean and minimalist dials, although this timelessness is occasionally loosened up by a GMT hand or a power-reserve indicator.

Grand Seiko Sport Collection

Complications, such as a second time zone, a power reserve indicator and chronograph modules make the watches in this collection more technically sophisticated, which in turn contributes to the fact that they wear more present on the wrist. Equipped with stainless steel bracelets and large pushers, the watches have a sporty and masculine appearance.

Grand Seiko Heritage Collection

The Heritage collection is perhaps the most sought-after collection of the three and represents a successful compromise between the two previously named collections. Classic dials, elegant Dauphine hands, stainless steel bracelets and a wide range of case diameters make this a collection a true crowd pleaser. In particular the SBGA211 – which is probably better known under its epithet “Snowflake” thanks to its dial reminiscent of freshly fallen snow – rightly enjoys cult status among Grand Seiko fans.

Menu