Donald Trump et son choix de montre-bracelet

By pburke in Lifestyle
août 7, 2020
Donald Trump et son choix de montre-bracelet

Les présidents américains et les montres sont une combinaison notoire : Comme les montres au poignet peuvent être considérées comme le miroir de la personnalité de chacun, elles doivent toujours être choisies avec beaucoup de considération et en tenant compte de la perception du public. Si les montres à quartz abordables sont synonymes d’une attitude terre-à-terre populaire, les modèles de qualité supérieure ou plus chers, en revanche, sont associés à la souveraineté et à la domination. (Que cela soit vrai ou non est une autre histoire).

En fait, surtout au siècle dernier, la possession de montres de luxe coûteuses était une pratique courante chez les politiciens de haut rang (comme le montre notre article Les tyrans et leurs montres), alors qu’aujourd’hui ils ont tendance à faire preuve de plus de modestie.

Mais qu’en est-il de Donald Trump, par exemple, qui est considéré comme tout sauf terre-à-terre et qui ne cache pas ses plateaux d’argent ? Curieusement, la taille de ses mains, mentionnée pour la première fois par un journaliste en 1988, semble être une question politique particulière. Même un article de Wikipedia intitulé « Tiny Hands » aborde ce sujet. Avec de petites mains, le choix de la bonne montre-bracelet est donc d’autant plus important. Voyons si Trump y parvient ou non :

3. Patek Philippe Golden Ellipse

Compte tenu de sa cravate, on aurait pu s’attendre à un complexe Napoléon similaire dans le choix de sa montre-bracelet, mais Trump va nous surprendre ici : Avec la Patek Philippe Golden Ellipse (Réf. 3738/122), il porte au poignet une montre en or jaune, de nature plutôt délicate avec un boîtier de 31 x 35,5 mm. Le design a été introduit pour la première fois en 1968 et est basé sur le principe du « golden ratio ». Ces proportions sont considérées comme particulièrement harmonieuses dans l’art.

2. Rolex Day-Date „President“

Le choix le plus évident pour un président : la Rolex Day-Date alias « Président ». Lors de son lancement en 1956, ce modèle a été la première montre à pouvoir afficher à la fois la date et le jour écrit de la semaine. Avec son « bracelet présidentiel » à trois maillons spécialement conçu, son boîtier en or jaune de haute qualité et sa complication utile, la montre est rapidement devenue l’une des préférées des présidents américains : Franklin D. Roosevelt, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy et Lyndon B. Johnson étaient tous des fans avérés de Day Date.

1. Vacheron Constantin Historiques Ultra-Fine 1968

La troisième et dernière montre, avec laquelle Trump apparaît souvent en public, est une Vacheron Constantin Historiques Ultra-Fine 1968 (Réf. 1968 43043/000R-9592). Cette montre carrée a un boîtier en or rose de 35 mm, c’est-à-dire un alliage d’or Vacheron Constantin avec du cuivre. Le mouvement utilisé est le calibre 1003 à remontage manuel, portant le poinçon de Genève. Avec une hauteur totale de seulement 1,64 mm, c’est l’un des mouvements les plus fins du monde.

Le verdict :

Trump ne nous semble pas être un grand amateur de montres, même si ses montres sont très bien en soi. Cependant, le fait qu’il porte une montre habillée pour le golf nous fait simplement hocher la tête en signe d’incrédulité.

La circulation sanguine ne semble pas être nécessaire pour un bon handicap.

Ce qui ressort, c’est son amour pour les montres en or, ce qui est conforme à son style de vie excentrique. Mais il doit veiller à ne pas trop tendre les pièces filigranées.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur les politiciens américains et leurs montres, ne manquez pas de consulter nos deux articles : La favorite d’Obama : Jorg Gray 6500 Chronograph et Les montres dans la campagne électorale américaine : De l’Omega au citoyen.


Menu

Donald Trump and his choice of wristwatch

By Montredo in Lifestyle
August 6, 2020
Donald Trump and his choice of wristwatch

US presidents and watches are a notorious combination: Since the timepieces on the wrist can be understood as a mirror of one’s own personality, they should always be chosen with great consideration and with an eye to public perception. While affordable quartz watches stand for a noble down-to-earth attitude, higher-quality or more expensive models, on the other hand, are associated with sovereignty and dominance. (Whether this is true or not is another story.)

In fact, especially in the last century, owning expensive luxury watches was common practice among high-ranking politicians (as our article Tyrants and Their Watches shows), whereas nowadays they tend to show more modesty.

But what about Donald Trump, who is considered to be anything but down-to-earth and makes no secret of the silver spoon in his mouth? Strangely enough, the size of his hands, which was first mentioned by a journalist in 1988, seems to be a particular political issue here. Even a Wikipedia article called “Tiny Hands” takes up this topic. With small hands, the choice of the right wristwatch is therefore all the more important. Let’s see if Trump succeeds in this or not:

3. Patek Philippe Golden Ellipse

Patek Philippe Golden Ellipse

Given his tie quirk, we would have expected a similar Napoleon complex when it comes to his choice of wristwatch, but Trump is in for a surprise here: With the Patek Philippe Golden Ellipse (Ref. 3738/122), he wears a yellow-gold watch on his wrist, which is rather dainty in nature with case dimensions of 31 x 35.5mm. The design was first introduced in 1968 and is based on the principle of the “golden ratio”. These proportions are considered particularly harmonious in art.

2. Rolex Day-Date „President“

Rolex Day-Date „President“

The most obvious choice for a president: the Rolex Day-Date aka “President”. When it was launched in 1956, this model was the first watch ever that could display both the date and the day of the week written-out. With the specially developed three-link “president’s bracelet”, the high-quality yellow gold case and the useful complication, the watch quickly became a favorite among US presidents: Franklin D. Roosevelt, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson were all avowed Day Date fans.

1. Vacheron Constantin Historiques Ultra-Fine 1968

Vacheron Constantin Historiques Ultra-Fine 1968

The third and last watch, with which Trump often appears in public, is a Vacheron Constantin Historiques Ultra-Fine 1968 (Ref. 1968 43043/000R-9592). This square watch has a 35mm pink gold case, i.e. a Vacheron Constantin gold alloy with copper. The movement in use is the hand-wound calibre 1003, bearing the Geneva hallmark. With an overall height of only 1,64 mm, it is one of the thinnest movements in the world.

The verdict:

Trump doesn’t strike us as a great watch enthusiast, even though his watches are quite alright per se. However, the fact that he wears a dress watch for golfing just makes us shake our heads in disbelief.

Blood circulation seems not to be necessary for a good handicap.

What emerges is his love for gold watches, which is in accordance with his eccentric lifestyle, although he should be careful not to strain the filigree pieces too much.

If you want to read more about US politicians and their watches, make sure to check out our two articles Obama’s favourite: Jorg Gray 6500 Chronograph and Watches in the US Election Campaign: From Omega to Citizen.


Previous comments (7)

  1. Perfect example that money can’t buy style 😂

    August 7, 2020
  2. Terrible POTUS, terrible taste… it’s a fit!

    August 10, 2020
  3. I do like the VC quite a bit, but looks absolutely hideous on his wirst.

    September 9, 2020
  4. […] 2) Donald Trump and his choice of wristwatch […]

    November 2, 2020
  5. Why President Trump’s watches are simply fabulous! That old Corrupt Political Grifter Joe Biden strikes me as a Timex sort of fella. He obviously has a bologna sandwich sense of style. Well your little old article was wonderful reading! Tah! Tah!

    January 21, 2021
  6. What Trump is wearing to play golf is the exact same watch Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus wore to play in tournaments.

    A Gold Rolex Day-Date 18K

    February 5, 2021
  7. OK, so Rolex Day Date was introduced in 1956, eleven years after FDR passed away. Then how could FDR have been an “avowed Day Date fan”? Am I missing something here??

    February 10, 2021

Menu