Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso

  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso 34mm Classic Small

2618130
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium

2548520
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Moon

3958420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Small Seconds

3828420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Duoface

3832420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608130
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One

3288120
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2588120
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Duetto Classic

2568403
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Lady

2653409
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Duo

3908420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Calendar

3912420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small Duetto

2662430
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Duoface

3848420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2578420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Moon

3352420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Small Second

3858522
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2588422
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Small Seconds

2438522
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2542540
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2548441
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2518540
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2548440
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2518140
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2548140
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608140
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608440
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2618540
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608441
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2602540
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2618140
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small Duetto

2662130
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Cordonnet

326858J
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto

3348120
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto

3348420
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto

3342520
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Jewelry

3363401
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Moon

3352120
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Moon

3358120
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Duoface

3988482
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2578120
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Jewellery

3363402

Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso

En outre, elle n’est jamais trop petite, ni ne prend toute la place lorsqu’elle est portée. Elle est classique, à la mode et définitivement jamais ennuyeuse. Il est particulièrement intéressant de noter qu’il n’y a pratiquement aucun modèle qui serve à la fois de montre pour les hommes et les femmes. Les boîtes rotatives de la Reverso la rendent presque prédestinée comme la montre pour les gravures de mots doux. Cependant, il n’y a qu’une poignée de premiers modèles Reverso qui ne sont pas gravés. Cela n’a fait qu’accroître leur popularité. Les modèles Reverso sont disponibles en différentes tailles et avec une fonctionnalité mécanique supplémentaire. Pour être honnête : on pourrait probablement écrire des livres entiers sur la Reverso. En fait, à bien y réfléchir, ils ont déjà été rédigés par l’auteur Jaeger-LeCoultre lui-même. Tout comme IWC et son e-book de près de 200 pages sur la Portugieser, la Reverso a un tome entier qui lui est dédié.

Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso en chiffres – Les 5 éléments principaux

38 : 38 x 24 couronne exclusive incluant les ergots.

Son design est resté largement inchangé au fil des ans. Même la taille de la Reverso Classique avec ses 38 x 24 millimètres est la même aujourd’hui qu’autrefois. Il faut noter que la Reverso ne trompe pas avec ses caractéristiques de taille. En réalité, les montres semblent être un peu plus petites qu’elles ne le sont réellement, car les ergots ne sont pas gênants et s’adaptent généralement bien aux dimensions de la boîte.

4 : Sports de ballon sur quatre pattes

La Reverso a une boîte tournante, conçue à l’origine pour les officiers britanniques en Inde qui brisaient ou rayaient souvent leurs montres au cours d’une partie de polo. On tournait simplement la boîte de la montre chaque fois que le verre de la montre devait être protégé pendant le match. La Reverso est rapidement devenue une icône de l’Art Déco ainsi qu’une montre très populaire dans la haute société. Elle se caractérise par des formes géométriques très claires. C’est aussi l’un des premiers designs de ce que l’on appelle aujourd’hui les montres Art Déco : des montres classiques et élégantes avec des boîtes carrées ou en forme de tonneau qui datent de cette époque. Le design de la Reverso est plus proéminent par rapport aux autres approches de ce style d’art visuel, non seulement en raison de sa boîte tournante, mais aussi des trois fines lignes au-dessus et au-dessous du cadran, qui sont aussi l’une de ses caractéristiques tout à fait uniques.

150 : Une variété riche de 150 caractéristiques

Même si la Reverso est visuellement très différente, elle présente en même temps une grande variété. Si la ligne de montres quadratique Reverso, connue sous le nom de Reverso Squardra, compte également parmi ses chiffres, alors la collection de montres affiche un total de 150 modèles différents. Il existe des versions qui proposent une grande variété de tailles, de matériaux de montres et un large éventail de fonctionnalités. Par exemple, les versions Standard-Reverso (Classique) ainsi que les versions Reverso de plus grande taille (Grande Taille, Grande Reverso et Grande Revers Ultra Thin). Il y a aussi des montres avec un nombre substantiel de complications diverses, comme la répétition minutes et le calendrier perpétuel.

La diversité de la Reverso est vraiment remarquable, surtout si l’on tient compte du fait que la diversité de son programme exige également un volume tout aussi important de mouvements différents conçus uniquement pour la collection Reverso. Incarnation d’une montre haut de gamme, c’est l’exemple parfait d’une montre qui intègre des métaux précieux. La Reverso est une montre à remontage manuel classique, en grande partie grâce à sa forme carrée et verticale et à sa boîte tournante. Elle exige également une conception de calibre relativement mince et, grâce à ses dimensions réduites, elle ne peut accueillir que des rotors d’enroulement de petite taille. Aujourd’hui, la Reverso vient s’ajouter aux modèles à quartz et à remontage manuel, dans des versions avec mouvements automatiques.

2 : Un duo de deux cadrans

Les versions pour hommes (Duoface) et pour dames (Duetto) ont toutes deux le double du nombre de cadrans de la plupart des autres montre-bracelet. Les deux cadrans affichent l’heure, contrairement aux montres plus compliquées, où des fonctionnalités supplémentaires sont affichées sur le deuxième cadran. Le meilleur exemple est le Tourbillon Patek Philippe Sky Moon Tourbillon qui a un ciel nocturne étoilé sur son cadran arrière. Les deux cadrans Reverso ne diffèrent vraiment que par leur style, généralement parce que l’un est clair et l’autre foncé. C’est une montre qui peut facilement s’accorder à l’ensemble de la garde-robe de celui qui la porte.

3 : Un tourbillon hommage en trois dimensions

A l’occasion du 175ème anniversaire de la fondation de Jaeger-LeCoultre, une édition limitée de la Reverso Gyrotourbillon II (75 pièces) est sortie. Tout comme le modèle présenté quatre ans auparavant, le Gyrotourbillon I, la montre possède un tourbillon et deux cages qui tournent en trois dimensions sur deux essieux et qui atténuent l’impact de la gravité. La montre a une boîte en platine et a remporté de nombreux prix, par exemple au Grand Prix d’Horlogerie pour la meilleure complication. La Reverso Tribute to 1931 est une autre Reverso anniversaire, lancée à l’occasion du 80e anniversaire de la collection. Il s’agit d’une Reverso sans le lettrage Jaeger-LeCoultre sur le cadran de la montre. Dans le même temps, l’hommage brun chocolat à 1931 était un hommage à la réplique produite quelques années plus tard en 1935. Depuis lors, des éditions limitées avec l’année de naissance sont sorties sur le marché.

Chronologie de la Reverso

1931: La Jaeger-LeCoultre bouleverse le monde horloger avec sa boîte tournante.

1933: La Reverso fait officiellement partie du catalogue de la marque.

1934: La Reverso accueille une petite seconde et même aujourd’hui, elle fait toujours partie des offres.

1972: Un grossiste italien demande à Jaeger-LeCoultre de produire une série Reverso et il utilise des caisses anciennes qu’il avait en stock. La renaissance officielle de la Reverso, dont la production était parfois interrompue, a suivi 10 ans plus tard, en 1982.

1982: La Reverso est officiellement réintégrée dans le programme Jaeger-LeCoultre avec une version carrée en 1982.

1985: La Reverso subit un lifting du cadran et reçoit une nouvelle boîte étanche.

1994: La Reverso se voit attribuer une version avec deux cadrans différents, connus sous le nom de Duoface. La Reverso peut maintenant, au choix, être portée avec un cadran clair ou foncé.

1997: La version féminine (Duetto) suit de près les traces de la version masculine (Duoface) avec deux cadrans distincts.

2008: La Reverso Gyrotourbillon II est lancée et remporte le Grand Prix d’Horlogerie.

2011: La Reverso Tribute 1931 est lancée à l’occasion du 80e anniversaire de la Reverso. Cette montre n’a pas de lettrage Jaeger-LeCoultre et est équipée d’un bracelet en cuir cordon marron en édition limitée à 100 exemplaires. La ligne 1931 a continué avec une suite l’année suivante.

2014: Au SIHH, la foire horlogère de la société Richemont et à laquelle Jaeger-LeCoultre appartient, une autre Reverso Tribute to 1931 est présentée, ainsi qu’un bracelet en cuir lisse et cordon.

Menu

Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso

  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso 34mm Classic Small

2618130
€4.579
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium

2548520
€4.979
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Moon

3958420
€11.789
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Small Seconds

3828420
€7.389
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Duoface

3832420
€19.359
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608130
€5.719
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One

3288120
€5.679
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2588120
€8.319
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Duetto Classic

2568403
€7.419
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Lady

2623402
€24.569
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Calendar

3912420
€21.909
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Duoface

3848420
€7.659
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2578420
€9.149
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small Duetto

2662430
€15.619
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Duo

3908420
€10.209
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Lady

2653409
€30.089
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Moon

3352420
€20.769
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duoface Small Seconds

2458420
€7.549
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Duoface Small Seconds

3848422
€7.669
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Duoface Small Seconds

3842520
€17.549
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Large Small Second

3858522
€5.449
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2588422
€7.419
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duoface Small Seconds

2458422
€7.549
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Small Seconds

2438522
€5.359
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2542540
€12.029
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2548441
€4.829
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2518540
€3.769
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2548440
€4.829
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2518140
€4.619
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Thin

2548140
€5.659
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608140
€5.569
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608440
€4.739
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2618540
€3.689
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2608441
€4.739
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2602540
€10.709
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small

2618140
€4.529
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Small Duetto

2662130
€27.119
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Cordonnet

326858J
€4.349
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto

3348120
€9.219
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto

3348420
€8.389
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto

3342520
€17.809
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Jewelry

3363401
€42.819
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Moon

3352120
€33.259
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Moon

3358120
€10.969
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Tribute Duoface

3988482
€9.129
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso Classic Medium Duetto

2578120
€11.089
  Jaeger-LeCoultre

Reverso One Duetto Jewellery

3363402
€48.789

Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso – An irreversible and fascinating timekeeper

Every watch legend has an equally fascinating story that accompanies it. A hook grabs your attention and pulls you into the tale. In the case of the Reverso, it’s an account of a British officer in India, whose watch glass was scratched during a round of Polo. A mix of commissioned work, inspiration, and the ambition of a watchmaker led to the conception of a timepiece on a swiveling case which could protect its face from damage. Thus the Reverso was invented. Today, it is the non plus ultra Art Deco classic and definitely can proudly takes its rightful place, as the worldwide most famous of all non-round watches. With its square shaped cases, it’s an ideal timekeeper for all those searching for a very elegant and unique timepiece. Especially when it shouldn’t be small, too flashy, or feel out of place when strapped on the wrist.

It also never manages to be too small, nor win the upper hand when worn. It’s classic, fashionable, and definitely never boring. Particularly noteworthy is that there’s hardly any models that function as both watches for both gentlemen and ladies. The Reverso’s rotating cases makes it practically pre-destined as a watch for engraved endearments. However, there’s only a handful of early Reverso models that have no engraving upon them. This in turn, has only increased their popularity. Reverso models come in varying sizes and with additional mechanical functionality. To be honest: entire books could probably be written about the Reverso. Actually, come to think of it, they already have been, penned by the author Jaeger-LeCoultre itself. Just like IWC and its nearly 200 page e-book on the Portugieser, the Reverso has an entire tome dedicated too it.

Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso broken down into numbers – Top 5 Facts

38: 38 x 24 exclusive crown including lugs

Its design has remained over the years largely unchanged. Even the size of the Reverso Classique with its 38 x 24 millimetres is the same today as it was in the past. It should be noted, that the Reverso isn’t deceptive with its size stats. In reality the watches appear to be somewhat smaller than they actually are as the lugs aren’t disruptive and usually conform well to the case size dimensions.

4: Ball sports on four legs

The Reverso has a rotating case, which was originally developed for British officers in India who often shattered or scratched their watches during a round of Polo. The watch’s case was simply turned, whenever the glass of the timekeeper needed to be protected during the game. The Reverso quickly became an icon of Art Deco as well as a very popular watch among the upper crust of society. It defines itself with very clear, geometric forms. It’s also one of the first concepts of what are nowadays known as Art Deco watches: classic, elegant timepieces with square or tonneau-shaped cases that originate from this period in time. The Reverso’s design is more prominent from other approaches to this visual art style not just because of its rotating case, but also the three thin lines above and below the dial, which are also one of its particularly unique features.

150: A rich variety of 150 characteristics

Even though the Reverso is visually very distinct, at the same time, it also offers up a lot of variety. If the quadratic Reverso line of watches, known as Reverso Squardra, is also counted among its numbers, than the collection clocks in with a total of 150 different models. There are versions which offer varying sizes, watch materials, and a broad spectrum of functionality. For example, the Standard-Reverso (Classique) as well as the larger sized Reverso versions (Grande Taille, Grande Reverso, and the Grande Revers Ultra Thin). There are also timepieces with a substantial amount of diverse complications e.g. minute repeater and perpetual calendar.

The Reverso’s variety is truly remarkable, especially when it’s kept in mind that the diversity of its program also requires an equally large volume of diverse movements that have been solely designed for the Reverso collection. As the epitome of a high end timekeeper, it’s a prime example of a watch which incorporate precious metals. The Reverso is a classic hand wound timepiece, due in large part to its upright, square shaped design and its rotating case. It also requires a relatively thin calibre construction and due to its thin case dimensions, it only has room for smaller sized winding rotors. Today, the Reverso comes, alongside quartz and hand winding models, in versions with automatic movements.

2: A duet of two watch faces

The gentlemen’s (Duoface) and the ladies (Duetto) versions both have double the amount of dials of most other wristwatches. Both faces display the time, compared to more complicated watches, where additional functionality is displayed on the second dial. The best example of this is the Patek Philippe Sky Moon Tourbillon which has a star studded night sky on its back side. Both of the Reverso dials really only differ in their styles, usually because one is light and the other dark toned. It’s a watch that can easily conform to the entire wardrobe of its wearer.

3: Three dimensional tourbillon hommage

On the 175th anniversary of Jaeger-LeCoultre’s founding, a limited edition of the Reverso Gyrotourbillon II (75 pieces) was released. Just like the model presented four years before, the Gyrotourbillon I, the watch has a tourbillon and two cages that rotate three dimensionally on two axles and which smooth out the impact of gravity. The watch has a case made of platinum and it won numerous awards e.g. at the Grand Prix d’Horlogérie for the best complication. Another anniversary Reverso is the Reverso Tribute to 1931, launched on the 80th anniversary of the collection. It’s a Reverso without the iconic curved Jaeger-LeCoultre lettering on the watch’s dial. At the same time, the chocolate brown tribute to 1931 was a homage on the counterpart that was actually produced a few years later in 1935. Since then, limited editions with the year of birth have come out on the market.

A Chronology of the Reverso

1931: The Jaeger-LeCoultre turns the watch world upside down with its rotating case.

1933: The Reverso officially becomes a part of the brand’s portfolio.

1934: The Reverso receives a small second and even today, it’s still a part of the offerings.

1972: An Italian wholesaler asks Jaeger-LeCoultre to produce a Reverso series and it uses old cases it had in storage. The official relaunch of the Reverso, whose production was occasionally halted, followed 10 years later in 1982.

1982: The Reverso is officially absorbed back into the Jaeger-LeCoultre program with a square shaped version in 1982.

1985: The Reverso receives a face lift as well as a new water resistant case.

1994: The Reverso receives a trademark version with two different dials, known as the Duoface. The Reverso can now, according to preference, be worn with either a light or dark toned face.

1997: The ladies version (Duetto) follows closely in the footsteps of the gentlemen’s version (Duoface) with two distinct dials.

2008: The Reverso Gyrotourbillon II is launched and wins awards at the Grand Prix d’Horlogérie.

2011: The Reverso Tribute 1931 is launched on the 80th anniversary of the Reverso. This timepiece doesn’t have any Jaeger-LeCoultre lettering and comes equipped with a brown cordovan leather watch strap in a limited edition of 100 pieces. The 1931 line followed up with a sequel in the next year.

2014: At SIHH, the Richemont corporation watch fair and to which Jaeger-LeCoultre belongs, an additional Reverso Tribute to 1931 is presented, along with a smooth, cordovan leather watch strap.

Menu