Vulcain 50s Presidents' Watch Cricket President (Video)

WATCH STORIES

In this episode of Watch Stories, we’re going to take you on a journey to Le Locle, where none other than Daniel Wechsler, CEO of Jaermann & Stübi, presents us with his favourite watch. It’s a Vulcain 50s Presidents’ Watch with the Cricket V-11 calibre and it’s not without reason, that it’s the preferred watch of this self-proclaimed hobby cook and epicurean. The Vulcain’s mechanical alarm can be the perfect reminder for when the optimal cooking temperature has been reached. Fried steaks timed with a chronograph are a thing of the past now.

A watch, much like sustenance, also requires just the right mixture of ingredients. In the case of the Cricket, it’s 157 different working components, where every individual piece plays a pivotal role. This watch is definitely not over-crammed, redundant, or just going for sensationalism.

Either way, enough with the cooking analogies. The Vulcain with a Cricket movement presented here belongs to the 50s Presidents’ Collection and is a very convincing timepiece which captivates with its charm and that’s something you just have to really appreciate about the more elegant variety of Crickets. It has a sober and clean design and its breathtaking dark blue dial with a stripe finish really takes center stage. In terms of its modern and sporty design, it’s a breath of fresh air, particularly compared to models that lean on earlier designs. The 50s Presidents’ Watch was named so because almost every single US President has frequently worn one since the 1950s. One can just imagine what kind of crucial role a Cricket as an appointment keeper might have played in contemporary events.

Originally named after the sound a chirping cricket makes, the Cricket Calibre is considered by many to be the first, true alarm wrist watch. At the same time, it’s probably the most famous alarm calibre altogether. It’s also well-known for the operation of its alarm, which is activated thanks to a second, additional winding mechanism barrel. The accuracy of the watch isn’t affected by the frequent configuration of the alarm feature either. In this V-11 version, it’s a hand winding movement, which oscillates with a frequency of 18,000 per hour and has a total power reserve of 42 hours.

Its stainless steel case has a measurement of 42 millimetres. The watch is available with a crocodile leather watch strap, which is befitting of its overall very refined style.



Don't miss anything

Be the first to hear about our new arrivals, receive updates and exclusive offers.

 

 

SUBSCRIBE NOW TO OUR NEWSLETTER!

Back to top

Vulcain 50s Presidents' Watch Cricket President (Video)

WATCH STORIES

In dieser Folge von Watch Stories nehmen wir euch mit nach Le Locle, wo uns niemand geringerer als Daniel Wechsler, seines Zeichens CEO von Jaermann & Stübi, seine persönliche Lieblingsuhr vorstellt. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Vulcain 50s Presidents’ Watch mit Cricket-Werk V-11 – nicht umsonst die Uhr der Wahl eines selbsterklärten Hobbykochs und Genussmenschen. Mit ihrem mechanischen Alarm, erinnert sie unter anderem daran, wenn der perfekte Garpunkt erreicht wird. Steakbraten mit einem Chronographen war gestern.

Eine Uhr braucht auch die richtigen Zutaten. Im Falle der Cricket sind es 157 verschiedene Komponenten, wobei wirklich jedes einzelne Teil essentiell ist, denn nichts an dieser Uhr ist irgendwie zuviel, redundant oder bloße Effekthascherei.

Nun aber Schluss mit Kochanalogien. Die hier vorgestellte Vulcain mit Cricket-Werk gehört zur 50s Presidents’ Collection und besticht mit ihrem reduzierten Charme, die man an den eleganteren Crickets einfach lieben muss. Das Design ist durchwegs nüchtern und klar. Besonders das atemberaubende dunkelblaue Zifferblatt mit Streifenschliff rückt beim Anblick ins Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit und sorgt im Gegensatz zum durchwegs an früheren Modellen angelehnten Design für eine moderne und gleichzeitig leicht sportive Note. Erhalten hat die 50s Presidents’ Watch ihren Namen, da seit den 50er Jahren so gut wie jeder US-Präsident ein Exemplar erhielt – die meisten von ihnen trugen die Cricket zu fast jedem Anlass. So kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass die Cricket als Termin-Erinnerer schon so einige Male eine wichtige Rolle bei zeitgeschichtlichen Ereignissen spielte.

Benannt nach dem zirpenden Geräusch einer Grille, gilt das Cricket-Kaliber für viele als der erste wirkliche Armbanduhrenwecker. Gleichzeitig ist es wohl auch das berühmteste Wecker-Kaliber überhaupt und ist bekannt für seine Alarmfunktionslösung, bei der der Alarm mithilfe einer zweiten, zusätzlichen Aufzugsspirale angetrieben wird. Damit wird die Gangdauer der Uhr nicht durch ein häufiges Stellen des Alarms beeinflusst. In der hier vorliegenden Ausführung V-11 handelt es sich um ein Handaufzugswerk, welches mit einer Frequenz 18.000 Halbschwingungen schwingt und eine maximale Gangdauer von 42 Stunden erreicht.

Das Edelstahlgehäuse hat einen Durchmesser von 42 Millimetern. Passend zum eleganten Grundton wird die Uhr an einem schwarzen Krokodilleder-Armband geliefert.

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren!


Nach Oben